INTERNATIONAL WORKING GROUP FOR COMPARATIVE STUDIES OF LEGAL PROFESSIONS

Printer-friendly version
Conference location: 
Gif-sur-Yvette, in the south of Paris, France
Country: 
Other
Sponsor organization(s) or institution(s): 
RCSL
Emmanuel Lazega (Chair of the WGCSLP) and Lise Mounier

The next meeting of the Working Group on Comparative Studies of Legal
Profession will take place at the French Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique conference centre.

Sub-group leader(s) for 2010 are:
S1- Ethics, Deontology : "Degroot, Leny" l.degroot@jur.kun.nl
S2- Family, policy and the Law : "Benoit Bastard" benoit.bastard@free.fr
and "Mavis Maclean" mavis.maclean@socres.ox.ac.uk
S3- International Lawyering : "Terry Halliday" halliday@abfn.org
S4- Judiciary : "Tony Bradney" a.bradney@law.keele.ac.uk
S5- Large Law firms : "John Flood" john.flood@tesco.net
S6- Lawyers and Clients : "Joanna Shapland" j.m.shapland@sheffield.ac.uk
S7- Legal Aid and legal services : "Alan Paterson"
prof.alan.paterson@strath.ac.uk
S8- Legal Education : "Fiona Cownie" f.cownie@law.keele.ac.uk
S9-Legal Professional Values & Identities: "Sommerlad, Hilary"
H.Sommerlad@leedsmet.ac.uk
S10- Political Liberalism : "Terry Halliday" halliday@abfn.org
S11- Regulatory Reform : "Fred Bruinsma" J.Bruinsma@law.UU.NL
S12- Women/Gender in the Legal Profession : "Ulrike Schultz"
Ulrike.Schultz@FernUni-Hagen.de
S13- Internationalization of norms : "Thierry Delpeuch"
delpeuch@isp.ens-cachan.fr
S14- Social control of business : "Emmanuel Lazega"
emmanuel.lazega@dauphine.fr
S15- Cultural Histories of Law: Wes Pue, Rob McQueen, David McCallum.

Transportation:
You can reach Gif sur Yvette by RER B - http://www.transilien.com/web/site
-
from Charles de Gaulle airport (direct train 1.15), from Orly Airport
(1.00), from the center of Paris (Chatelet-Les Halles, Luxembourg, Denfert Rochereau
etc. 30mn).
Vallée de Chevreuse (Chevreuse Valley) is the name given to the valley of
the Yvette River, flowing though the Yvelines and Essonne departments. It
encompasses the communes around Chevreuse (Saint-Rémy-lès-Chevreuse,
Choisel, Dampierre, etc.) located within the Parc naturel régional de la haute vallée
de Chevreuse and communes further downstream until Palaiseau : Gif-sur-Yvette,
Bures-sur-Yvette, Orsay, Villebon-sur-Yvette, etc.

Accomodation:
The Conference will take place in a Castle located on the Campus of Gif
sur Yvette, where we will have too breaks, lunchs and diners.
22 single rooms and 19 doubles bedrooms have been booked (7 in the Castle
and the others in a modern building at 10mn walk). There are hotels too in the
village of Gif sur Yvette.
Participants are expected to arrive on July 8 for coeffe between 8.30-9.00
am and to leave on July 10nd before lunch.
If participants want to arrive earlier, they need to reserve an hotel in
Paris or in Gif sur Yvette.

Program:
The Conference will start on Thursday 8 of July at 9.30 am and will end on
Saturday 10 of July at 12.00 am. A detailed program should be available early
2010.